Going Organic? My Skin Says Yes!

I haven’t always been conscious of things that said “all natural” or “organic”. In fact, being the lazy cheap person I am means I would usually purchase whatever product was on sale for the cheapest price at the store. I have never been loyal to a specific brand. In fact, I would go so far as to label myself a “brand hopper”. I’d go from product to product without ever really feeling like there was one particular thing I couldn’t live without. To me, shampoo was shampoo, face wash was face wash, and they all did relatively the same thing.

Then my little L was born. I got so many products for her at her baby shower, that I hadn’t really had to put much thought into purchasing items. That is until everything changed. L had very sensitive skin. The wrong kind of cream would have her break out in little hives. She got small patches of what I was told “looked like eczema” (by a doctor and a pharmacist) on the top of her shoulder, on one leg, and on her belly. Something wasn’t working for her, so I made some changes.

Johnson & Johnson products were out. They may work for some kiddos, but weren’t working for mine. I switched to Live Clean products for her bath, her lotion, and her bum and her supposed “eczema” went away within two weeks. That’s pretty telling.

That is what started my research into more natural and organic skin products for L and for myself. Yes, myself as well. I have had awful skin ever since I became pregnant. I’m acne prone, have pores that to me seem to be the size of craters, and ankles that are crazy dry and was told by a dermatologist resembled a “knuckle pad”. Gross. L’s changed skin by switching to less chemically-laden product was my motivation. If it worked for her, surely it couldn’t hurt to try for myself!

So after doing research, I came across a local woman who makes natural, organic products from her home. Her company is called “Homemade Organics by Jen“.

1379394_520744201346310_840630780_n

Everything in her product is not just natural, it’s orgnanic. Every single ingredient is organic. It’s so natural, in fact, you could eat it. I figured it couldn’t HURT me to try it out, so I contacted her. I purchased a lip balm and a deodorant, and got samples of the facial scrub, body scrub, toner, whipped shea face and body cream, whipped cooca face and body cream and a hair pomade for my fiance to try.

I have tried organic products in the past, and had so-so results. Lip balms I’ve tried have either been so hard they crumble on contact, or so liquidy that they literally spill everywhere. Same goes with deodorant. These weren’t like that. The lip balm was a tasty lemon scent, and was firm enough to glide on but not liquidy. Kind of right in the middle and perfect. It is also long lasting, so I don’t have to apply a bazillion times a day, which is great! The deodorant was coconut-lemon and smells delicious! Since giving birth two years ago, I’ve become crazy sweaty. Must be the hormones I guess, but I need a good deodorant or else I’m left smelling gross. This scent was very long lasting, non-offensive and effective! It is less firm than a commercial deodorant stick, and somewhat melted into my armpits as I applied it, but it worked and that’s the main thing I was concerned about.

988344_539519509468779_1908384562_n 1273680_503503936403670_1084444553_o

The next thing I tried was the facial scrub. My face breaks out faster than you can say “Effin’ pimples!” so I was hoping for a miracle here. The ingredients listed are: Organic, Unrefined Coconut Oil, Organic Honey Powder, Pure powdered Nahcolite, Vitamin E, and Lavender Essential Oil. She told me I wouldn’t need moisturizer after using this, and I was honestly a little skeptical. So I went home, wet my face, took a small amount into my fingers and got ready to wash. I could instantly feel it almost melt in my fingers, and as I scrubbed it almost felt like a waxy coating. It was much different than any facial scrub I’ve ever used in the past. I took that to be because of the oils in the product. I went to rinse off and it felt like it wouldn’t completely rinse. Again, I think that was the oils in the product, so I just gave up and patted my face dry. That’s when I noticed the difference. My face was glowing. I know that sounds cheesy, but it’s true. It was soft and smooth and glowing. I couldn’t believe it! The sample she gave me was enough to last about 5 days and after 5 days of using the facial scrub once a day (at night), and the toner once a day (in the morning), my acne has cleared up about 80%. How crazy is that? It feels really different when I use it, but the results speak for themselves. I think it is tied for my favourite product she makes.

1379314_538049442949119_1581969113_n

So what is my other favourite? I think its another combination of the body scrub and whipped cocoa face and body cream. The body scrub smells delicious, and I really focused on using that on my crummy ankles. It is again full of natural oils, and guess what? While it didn’t cure my skin in that area (yet), it did take the crusty look away from them! That is something that expensive creams from dermatologists haven’t been able to manage yet, so I’m hooked. After the shower I hopped out and put on the whipped cocoa cream and I ended up smelling like chocolate chip cookies for the day, with skin as smooth as silk. It was light-weight and soaked right into my skin without feeling heavy or greasy. A co-worker actually asked me what cream I had on, because she said I smelled “delicious and edible”. Seriously, who doesn’t want to smell delicious and edible, while remaining chemical free? I’m sold, and my skin has never felt better.

531889_539519622802101_1963610789_n 1377299_539519506135446_314121276_n

I could go on and on, but I’d end up writing a novel rather than a review, and honestly nothing could explain the results better than trying it for yourself. I know if you’re local to her, she will give you samples to try of her products, and she ships throughout Canada.

I wasn’t asked to review her product, and I wasn’t paid for this review. I just felt so strongly about what it has done for my skin (my facial acne, and gross ankles in particular) that I was compelled to share it with other Moms who may have had hormonal skin changes since pregnancy, and are as desperate as I was to find something that works, is organic and completely chemical free. I know I probably sound more like an infomercial than a Mommy blogger right now, but it’s the truth and I feel like a new, fresh-faced version of myself. If you’ve had bad skin for a while, you know that finding something that actually works can feel life-changing.

Check out her facebook page here: https://www.facebook.com/#!/homemadeorganicsbyjen

1385789_539519579468772_210589815_n 1456578_543481772405886_582964694_n 1385675_540029186084478_764660427_n

7 thoughts on “Going Organic? My Skin Says Yes!

  1. How awesome that you’re seeing positive changes with your skin! The strong, sometimes-dangerous, chemicals that are sometimes prescribed for acne/breakouts are just horrendous. I’m glad you’ve found something organic that works! 😀

  2. Sounds gorgeous. I will have to look for something similar locally! I have terrible skin. Interestingly I use all perfect stuff for Monkey and yet I don’t do it for myself. A note on Johnson & Johnson – when we took Monkey to the paed at about 3 or 4mths old (for something unrelated) he told us to stop using the products and that they were little more than glorified dishwashing liquid. Eeeewwwww. Never touched them again!!

  3. My wife uses Dove soap on the little guys and rubs petroleum jelly on the backs of their knees and elbows where they get the eczema right after their baths. Great suggestions here. Ima have momma check this out.

Leave a Reply

