Question to fellow bloggers: Is it too soon?

3ox9vw

I had someone ask me the other day, if my blog had it’s own Facebook page and Twitter account yet. My first thought was: “Really? Should I have one of those already?!”

Then I started to think. I really do want to grow my blog, and I wonder if this would be a good way to do so…
What do you all think? Is it too soon to be worrying about such things, or is it the norm and I’m falling behind with the times?

Do you all have Facebook pages and Twitter accounts for your blog? Would anyone of you even bother following or liking either of those pages if I created one?
Just doing some “market research” if you would. πŸ™‚

25 thoughts on “Question to fellow bloggers: Is it too soon?

  1. YES! ABSOLUTELY YOU SHOULD!

    Phew. Sorry for yelling. Hold on while I take a sip of water.

    The thing about blogging is that you want people to keep coming back to read. Since there are so many ways to be notified about new posts, you want to be open to allow people to find out about your new posts in their preferred way. Facebook and Twitter are some of the ways that people choose to follow a blog.

    On top of that, these two social media platforms are not only for established bloggers. In fact, they might actually help you become more established.

    Twitter helps you find your community. My Twitter feed is full of bloggers and Moms and Dads and locals and I constantly feel like I could jump in and have a conversation. Twitter has given me an opportunity to create raport with other people and hopefully that leads people to jump to my blog. (In a couple months I’m going to be doing a bit of an intro-to-twitter tutorial in Halifax if you’re interested).

    Facebook is a way to create and grow YOUR community. It is where a lot of internet users in our generation congregate and so it is one of the best ways to share blog links, respond to comments, and ask questions to generate engagement. Most bloggers will say that the majority of their traffic comes from Facebook so without a doubt you want to have a page there.

    Honestly, if I find a blog I like, the first thing I look for is a “follow me on Twitter” button. I know I have too many blogs to read in my RSS and I don’t “Like” every blog I come across on Facebook until I have a relationship with them. So Twitter is my first place to go to hopefully get to know the blogger and be reminded of their blog every once in a while. If I see that they don’t have a twitter profile, I am usually disappointed in the blogger. I shake my head and I leave without following. This is how *I* personally go about blog following. Everyone does it differently. You want to provide as many follow options as possible! πŸ™‚

    • Wow!

      Thank you so much for taking the time to make such a thought out and detailed response – I really do appreciate it!

      I guess I have some homework to do.

      I do have a personal twitter account, so I think I have the basics down. How in depth will your tutorial be? If it’ll give me some more tricks of the trade, then I would definitely be interested in attending.

      Thanks so much!!! πŸ˜€

  2. I’m completely with Laura. The first thing I do is follow folks on twitter. The Facebook like takes a bit more time. I have both a twitter account and a facebook page for my blog. Some blogger have a separate twitter account for personal and for their blog but mine is the same. My blog is my personal voice…so my twitter is simply just me. These things take time to grow…I’m always amazed at bloggers who have thousand of twitter followers…I’m far from that number but the people who are there, have become lovely friends and a great support for what I do.

  3. I’ve been on almost a year now (minus my absentee stint) and I don’t have either yet… But these ladies are convincing. Hmm. I guess I have homework as well. We can follow/tweet/like each other when we join in the next stage of blogging. πŸ˜‰

  4. Laura explained it quite well. I am a newbie also, but for what it’s worth I use my FB (both personal and business pages) to direct traffic to my blog, and vice versa a little bit. I also use my business FB page to post about other things.

    For instance, right now I am running a 2 week series on teen dating abuse on my Help To Hope FB page. I consider this an important topic for parents of teens, but it isn’t really the theme of my blog (which is to encourage parents of teens in crisis as I share our story of my daughter’s clinical depression from when she was a teen). I put a post on my blog directing people to my FB page for the start of a series, and I also tweet that post (to send people to the blog, then on to FB). Phew! {That’s exhausting for a woman who thinks the a.m. hours should be illegal. Just sayin’.} πŸ˜‰

    I could see you posting informative and amusing pieces on a FB page that share more than you will post on your blog, for instance articles, etc. that you do not author but that you appreciate and think others will also.

    Does that make sense? It’s just how I have chosen to do things, not necessarily the right way. I imagine it varies a little for everyone. Your market is rather HUGE – parent of toddlers, but also just parents in general. I think you could do a lot with FB and twitter. And put the links on your blog so they are easy to see, not buried near the bottom of the page but instead near the top.

    I took an online seminar on twitter, and I will tell you something I found pretty good: For each “business/blog” tweet, you should post 3 tweets that aren’t about that. Post a link to someone else’s article/blog, a pic of your dog, a funny or helpful quote, etc. I like that becs a lot of the people I follow on Twitter are obviously just wanting to sell themselves or their product. It can feel pushy. They use HootSuite and schedule posts about their product/ branding constantly. It kinda makes me feel like I’m in a used car lot. {But that’s just my feeling about it; you may feel differently and so use Twitter differently. I think it speaks about my personality. Some might think I should go in more for the hard sell, but … nah. To each her own.}

    Just my two (or maybe five?) cents to take or leave.

    I look forward to seeing what happens next for you!

    Monica

  5. Hi! I use twitter and facebook but it’s funny…I get more views from Pinterest than any of the other social media sites. I would suggest using photos and then posting them to Pinterest with links back to your blog.

  6. Lol I went foe twitter as I think it is less work (it’s a time thing for me) but I see you settled on facebook. Yay good for you! You’ll have to let me know how it goes for you. I think it is, probably the better choice for blog growth.

  7. Do it! Well I think you already have but anyway, the publicize button is great. You can share your post to each platform and even if it gets just one reader curious its a start to growing your followers!! Good luck!!

  8. This is a great topic that I’ve actually been thinking about lately. All of the above comments are awesome and I agree! I think for me I need to commit to being a more regular poster before I get a FB page (my twitter is for both personal and blog use at this point). I also like the idea of having an FB page for my blog so that I can remove all of my “friends” on FB that I don’t actually know or are not actually friends with and make it more personal.

  9. You do what you feel you would like to do πŸ™‚ and of course what you can keep up with. I’m having a hard time keeping up with my awards (sorry everyone) and blog reading and my candy crush habit that I’d flop at anything more right now lol. Let me know how you do!! I may consider in the future.

  10. I have a twitter and Instagram linked to my Blog. I use twitter infrequently and I wish I used it more. So maybe I will now thanks to your post. Facebook is just for me and the people who know me personally from work or school.

  11. Pingback: How I’ve prioritised my blogging tasks | So many right ways

Leave a Reply

